A car accident can be stressful. You may be in immediate physical pain with worries over financial issues. Additionally, when you already have a full schedule, a car accident is a major inconvenience. Unfortunately, accidents happen. When they do, make sure that you and everyone else involved in the accident are okay and determine whether medical treatment is needed. One or both vehicles may also have to be towed and insurance companies will need to be called. So, should your first call be to 911? The answer is usually “yes”.
Benefits of Calling 911
Many people incorrectly believe that they should only call 911 if there are people who have been significantly injured in the accident and need immediate medical assistance. In fact, if it appears that the accident has caused more than $500 in property damage or anyone is injured, Florida law REQUIRES the driver of a vehicle involved in a car crash to report the accident immediately by the quickest means of communication available at that time.
Even if the accident did not cause $500 of property damage and no one is complaining of injury, calling 911 may still be wise. If the other driver negligently hit you but is denying that they caused the accident or not admitting fault, a responding police officer will consider the circumstances of the accident, determine fault, and, if appropriate, write traffic citations to the negligent driver. Additionally, the police report will provide you with valuable evidence to provide to your insurance company and the insurance company of the negligent driver, if they are not clear on who caused the accident. Further, if you have to hire an attorney to represent you in a case involving the accident, the police report will provide your attorney with an official account of what happened, what the drivers said at the accident scene, and what any witnesses told the officer at the scene.
Seek Help from Kirkland, McGhee, & Gann
The lawyers at Kirkland, McGhee & Gann are ready to help you with your car accident case. If you have suffered injury, please contact us as soon as possible after your car accident. Florida law has a statute of limitations that limits the amount of time you have to file a personal injury lawsuit. If you try to file a lawsuit for personal injury after the statute of limitations has expired, your case will be dismissed and your opportunity to obtain compensation for your injuries will be gone.
You want to make sure you have the right legal representation and Kirkland, McGhee & Gann is ready to help you with your car accident case. You don’t have to deal with the accident aftermath alone. Our attorneys will advise you of your options and help you to make the best decisions for you. Our goal is to get you the compensation you deserve.