Florida requires Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”), also known as “no fault” insurance, to be purchased by everyone who owns a motor vehicle that is registered in Florida. When your automobile policy contains PIP coverage, your own car insurance pays for medical expenses and lost wages that you suffer in a car accident. PIP coverage is different from bodily injury coverage because PIP coverage will pay for your care regardless of who was at fault for causing the accident whereas bodily injury coverage pays for the care of others who were injured due to your negligence.
What Is Personal Injury Protection?
Personal Injury Protection is a coverage provided by your Florida car insurance policy. This policy covers your own medical bills and lost wages regardless of who caused the accident. Your Personal Injury Protection policy covers 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages up to $10,000. Make sure that you cooperate with your insurance company to ensure receipt of Personal Injury Protection benefits following an accident.
What Does A Personal Injury Protection Claim Entail?
Any time an injury is caused by a car accident, you should be eligible for Personal Injury Protection unless you have failed to purchase insurance or allowed your policy to be cancelled. Personal Injury Protection covers services from EMTs, hospitals, private physicians, chiropractors, and a host of specialists. The medical provider that provides your care can bill the claim directly to the Personal Injury Protection insurance provider, thereby relieving you of having to handle the recovery of your medical expenses.
If you have a PIP claim, It is imperative that you work with your insurance provider. Like filing any other sort of accident claim, you will need to contact your insurance carrier and make a claim for Personal Injury Protection. You may also need to provide complete an application for PIP benefits which will give your insurance carrier documentation about the accident and pertinent information about your injuries.
In some cases, your PIP provider may request that you see a specific doctor to assess your injuries. You are required to cooperate with your insurance company. Your insurance company may require a recorded statement, documentation, and a medical examination by a medical professional of their choosing. Working with your insurance provider is mandatory, and refusal can mean a denied claim.
How Long Can You Wait to Receive Treatment Without Compromising Your PIP Compensation?
Often, medical treatment is offered immediately following an accident. While you do not have to undergo treatment on the same day of the accident, the Florida PIP law requires that a medical condition must be assessed within 14 days of the date of the accident. If no treatment is sought within 14 days of the accident, your Personal Injury Protection insurer is unlikely to pay benefits on your behalf.
In some cases, you might not immediately realize that you are injured. Many accident victims feel fine at the time of the crash and realize they’ve suffered injuries within the next day or two. It is important that you contact your insurance company and see a medical professional as soon as possible if you suspect that an injury has been caused by the accident.
In the state of Florida, the law dictates that your Personal Injury Protection policy covers up to $10,000. This policy can be used to cover up to 60% of your lost wages and 80% of your medical costs. Make sure that you cooperate with your insurance company to ensure receipt of Personal Injury Protection benefits following an accident.